Saturday, December 5, 2015

Season 27 Awards Recap

I completely missed the post-season awards in Season 26, and I wanted to do something to note Season 27, even though I was distracted from the pre-awards predictions. So, here is the post-season recap.

Las Vegas Slobs 1B Buddy Hollingsworth (13 votes) beat the field to take his second consecutive MVP Award on the strength of his 53 HR (AL leader), 110 run, and 128 RBI (second in the AL) performance. Hollingsworth played in all 162 games, and soared to a .584 Slugging Percentage (5th in the AL) and a .936 OBP. Charlotte Webs DH Hick White (9 votes) was the runner-up with 43 home runs (3rd in the AL) and 108 RBIs and a 1.032 OPS (2nd in the AL). Slobs 3B Frankie Nichting (7 votes) took 3rd in voting, with 46 doubles (tied for the AL lead), 38 HRs, 100 RBIs, and 136 runs (AL leader). Cincinnati Reds 1B Pablo Iglesias (38 doubles, 29 HRS, and 132 RBIs) and Syracuse Yankdawgs LF Benji Rosado (120 runs, 36 doubles, 34 HRs, 119 RBIs, and a .911 OPS) bring up the rear. Yankdawgs 1B Jim Kazmir hit 51 HRs (second in the AL), 127 RBIs (3rd in the AL), and a 1.144 OPS (AL leader) in just 112 games, but an ACL tear cost him 50 games and his second MVP Award.

Honolulu Redbirds 1B Sal Becker (13 votes) won his 4th career MVP Award behind 34 doubles, 35 HRs, 102 RBIs. Becker led the ML with 103 walks, a .477 OBP, and a 1.122 OPS, and finished 3rd in the NL with a .645 Slugging Percentage. Oakland Warriors LF Julian Rodriguez finished second (9 votes) with 55 HRs (Major League leader), 123 RBIs, 120 runs (third in the NL), and 29 steals. Atlanta Bravehearts 1B Ady Perez (4 votes) finished third thanks to his 53 HRs (2nd in the NL), 130 RBIs (5th in the NL), 126 runs (3rd in the NL), and .597 Slugging Percentage (5th in the NL). Detroit Black Sox RF Al Ordonez (36 HRs and an NL-4th place 132 RBIs) and Pawtucket Paw Sox 1B Dicky Scheffer (42 HRs and an NL-leading 143 RBI) rounded off NL voting with 3 votes apiece. Albuquerque Dukes C Chan Ho Xaio was again left off the ballot despite 43 HRS (tied for 4th in the NL), 90 walks (3rd in the NL), and 2nd place finishes in the NL in batting average (.340), OBP (.428), Slugging Percentage (.649), and OPS (1.091).

AL Cy Young:
35-year-old Salem Witches SP Fred Beckett (9 votes) prevailed in an extremely close Cy Young battle in the AL. Beckett went 19-9 with a 3.78 ERA in 243 innings pitched, striking out 195. Beckett led the league in wins and innings, and finished in a tie for second in strikeouts. New York Dodgers SP Bailey Stoddard (7 votes) finished second in an impressive sophomore season, going 15-8 with a 3.25 ERA and 195 strikeouts in 241 innings (finishing second in the NL in ERA, IP, and strikeouts). Florida Horrorshow SP Dock Brooks (6 votes) finished in third with a 16-5 record, a 3.38 ERA, and 169 strikeouts in 199.2 IP. Syracuse Yawkdawgs closer Henry Shaw and Kansas City Burnt Ends closer and AL Fireman of the Year Bump Dirks both finished with 5 votes, Shaw with a 7-2 record, 35 saves, and a 2.47 ERA and Dirks with a 2-1 record, 43 saves, and a 1.99 ERA.

NL Cy Young:
The NL Cy Young Award was a runaway, with Pawtucket Paw Sox ace Moises Ordaz taking 25 of the 32 votes cast thanks to a 25-6 record with a 2.16 ERA, a 0.97 WHIP, and 235 strikeouts all in 254 innings. Ordaz led the majors in wins, ERA, WHIP, strikeouts and IP. Detroit Black Sox SP Melvin Duckworth finished second (3 votes), posting a 24-4 record with a 3.09 ERA, a 1.12 WHIP, and 200 strikeouts in 233 IP. SP Luis Pascual of the Louisville Colonels took third (2 votes) with a 20-8 record and a 2.88 ERA. Detroit Black Sox SP Barry Woods and Honolulu Redbirds closer Enrique Cruz finished out voting with 1 vote apiece. Woods went 18-3 with a 2.25 ERA in 220 IP, while Cruz went 8-5 with 40 saves and a 1.97 ERA. Honolulu Redbirds SP Diego Sojo fell short of the ballot despite a 19-5 record, 209 strikeouts and a 2.92 ERA in 243.1 innings.

AL Rookie of the Year:
Salem Witches 3B Alex Jose (13 votes) prevailed, hitting .288 with 92 runs, 33 HRs, 80 RBIs, and a .905 OPS. Second was Syracuse Yawkdawgs RF Julio Neruda (10 votes), who his 29 HRs and had 90 RBIs, with a .919 OPS. Jacksonville Jaxx CF Kiki Arruebarrena and Kansas City Burnt Ends SP Brian Foster finished in a tie for third (4 votes). Arruebarrena hit 33 doubles, stole 23 bases, and scored 88 runs, while Foster went 8-4 with a 2.90 ERA in 118 innings on the mound. New York Dodgers 2B Erisbel Marmol was 5th with 1 vote after hitting 31 doubles, scored 87 runs, walking 99 times, and adding a .403 OBP and a .859 OPS.

NL Rookie of the Year:
Our last category sees a surprise as balloting ended with a tie for NL Rookie of the Year, knotted at 10 votes apiece for Oakland Warriors CF Adrian Ramsay and Albuquerque Dukes 1B Todd Reese. Ramsay scored 119 runs, hit 50 doubles and 32 HRs, knocked in 95, had a .828 OPS, and stole 29 bases. Reese his 36 HRs, had 82 runs scored and 99 RBIs, with a .604 Slugging Percentage and a 1.000 OPS. Pawtucket Paw Sox SP Donaldo Nieves (7 votes) finished third, going 14-7 with a 3.42 ERA and 129 strikeouts in 136.2 Innings Pitched and 25 starts. Colorado Crush 2B Hod Titan (3 votes) scored 93 runs and knocked in 80, hitting .337 with a .813 OPS. The runner-up was Jackson Little Jacks Closer Chris Owings, who saved 34 games and threw to a 1.86 ERA in 38.2 innings and 41 games.

No comments:

Post a Comment